The new hybrid model and its safety

by Anna Lersch

This March, many  will be shifting into the blended learning model by going in person two days a week, and staying virtual for another three days.  Students have been given the option to either go into blended learning or stay completely virtual.  

Some have decided to stay virtual due to concern about their safety, or not wanting to go through another change.  Chris Lopez-Henriquez, a senior at East High School, says, “What influenced me to stay virtual was mostly due to the process. As a current senior, I’ve already been exposed to a lot of changes, like the forced responsibility of doing school virtually. Now, I’ve adapted to these changes. I have no desire in undergoing another learning process and adjustment, especially now that I’m a couple of months away from graduation.”

He also explains that he wouldn’t want to go to school just to get a quarter of the experience he wants to have, and that there has already been enough changes.  He says, “I am very much happy staying online, social distancing and quarantine was never an issue for me, nor does it bother my mental health. It is much important to me now since I’m in Puerto Rico with my family whom I had not seen for more than 7 years. In fact, going back would just make me be sad or very disappointed.”

Those that are going back to blended learning may be wondering: How safe is the school?  Will the safety procedures put in place help?  The East High School nurse, Terry Zahorik, explains that our school is in a very good state and that schools aren’t really the cause of covid-19.

The procedures put in place for safety such as masking, social distancing, and sanitizing, have been proven to be very effective.  Terry Zahorik says she feels school nurses have spent a lot of time working with the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) on the safety procedures that have been put in place.

Vaccinations for teachers have been made available since March 1st.  Teachers that still may not feel safe have the opportunity to work from home, or take an unpaid leave, which can further guarantee their safety.

Therefore, whether continuing school virtually or blended, we can be sure that our learning and education is still guaranteed, and it’s very important that everyone feels safe with whichever choice they make for continuing on with their learning experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *